1346 East Fifth Avenue

Columbus, Ohio 43219

© 2016 


Phone 614-725-9098


Command Brass

Our client-focused maintenance, repair, modification,

and customization brass instrument services are exceptional. We specialize in producing custom world-class professional brass instruments. Extensive access to top music accessory suppliers allow us to provide our clients with the tools and knowledge they need to be successful musicians and music educators.

Mission Statement

Our mission is to create exceptional high quality brass musical instruments, products, and services. We create these products using extensive research, development, and quality testing. Our products are built using the highest quality materials and manufacturing techniques. With a focus on our clients, we provide exceptional customer service no matter if they are students, amateurs, enthusiasts, or professionals. 

Julian S. Davis II


Design Engineer

Brass Technician

Julian S. Davis II is the President, Design Engineer, and a Brass Technician for Command Brass. He has trained extensively in the design, construction, and repair of brass instruments.

He started as a brass technician repairing, customizing, and modifying brass instruments at a brass and woodwind repair and customization shop in Central Ohio. He further refined and expanded his brass knowledge during his 2-year tenure as the Repair Supervisor for The Ohio State University Marching and Athletic Bands at The Ohio State University – Columbus. In addition to his work as a brass technician, he has served as an Assistant Engineer and Metrology Specialist at Tool Technologies by Van Dyke, a Prototype, Design, Tool and Die company.

Julian is a professional classical and jazz trumpet player and conductor across the mid-western region of the United States.

He has studied performance, music education, composition and arranging under the tutelage of Kenyatta Beasley, Dr. Michael Hackett, Kristopher Keith, James Masters, Dr. William “Ted” McDaniel, Jeffrey D. Shellhammer, Jessica Sneeringer, Anthony Stanco, Shawn “Thunder” Wallace, and Dr. Jon R. Woods. Julian is currently completing course work at The Ohio State University – Columbus to finish degrees in Mechanical Engineering, Music Education, and Jazz Composition.

Whitney Rose Davis

Director of Operations

Brass Technician

Whitney Rose Davis is the Director of Operations and a Brass Technician for Command Brass. She manages vendor accounts, logistics, and client service communications.

Whitney is in her third year as the Trumpet Instructor at Denison University where she teaches Trumpet Studio as well as Trumpet Ensemble. She has performed with orchestras including the New Albany Symphony Orchestra, Lima Symphony Orchestra, Nittany Valley Symphony Orchestra, and Opera Project Columbus. Whitney has been a Solo Cornet player with the Central Ohio Brass Band (COBB) for 5 years. In 2017, she was a featured soloist with COBB while presenting a lecture on the traditions of British Brass Bands. She has also given lectures on performance anxiety, how to listen to recordings, and Mahler’s 5th Symphony from the perspective of the Trumpet. 


Whitney has several years of experience working within the Music Retail Industry. She consulted with instrument manufacturers, outfitted customers with the proper equipment through one-on-one consultations, and worked with performers and vendors at conferences.


Whitney has maintained a successful private trumpet studio in the Greater Columbus area for 9 years. 


Currently, Whitney is finishing her Doctorate of Musical Arts (DMA) at The Ohio State University in Trumpet Performance. She obtained a Master degree in Performance from Pennsylvania State University and a Bachelor of Music from The Ohio State University.


Whitney has studied under the tutelage of Timothy Leasure, Dr. Langston Fitzgerald III, George Goad, Velvet Brown, Ginger Turner, and Jan Duga. She has had the honor of being under the baton of conductors such as Crafton Beck, David Becker, Luis Biava, Richard Blatti, Gerardo Edelstein, Dennis Glocke, Dr. William “Ted” McDaniels, Dr. Russel Mikkelson, Alessandro Sicilliani, Jessica Sneeringer, Dr. Robert Ward, Dr. Jon Woods, and Dan Yoder.